War is Peace. Freedom is Slavery. Ignorance is Strength. And The Wait is Nearly Over.

Less than 24 hours to go before the first diary entry… but if you can’t wait:

BBC Radio 4’s PM programme will be talking about the diaries later this afternoon – and giving you a chance to get involved.

Professor Jean Seaton and Richard Blair will be talking about the diaries on National Public Radio’s Day to Day in the US.

Some extracts are featured in the media coverage which you can link to on our blogroll (right).

And there’s plenty to keep you busy on the Orwell Prize website.

This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to War is Peace. Freedom is Slavery. Ignorance is Strength. And The Wait is Nearly Over.

  1. Jerry says:

    This website is such an absolutely brilliant idea. I am eagerly looking forward to following this.

  2. Richard says:

    Perhaps it should be called the Orwell-Goldstein Blog Diary ?

  3. Andrew Bruce Smith says:

    Looking forward to it also.

    As I said in my feature for One magazine last year, I’m sure Orwell would have approved of blogging.

    http://www.iamone.co.uk/2008/02/15/orwells-sound-of-silence/

  4. I heard about this project on our local NPR station this afternoon; I am looking forward to following Mr. Orwell’s diaries day to day–even if it is 70 years after the fact! This is a brilliant idea and I think it will bring a different light on the world situation of that time to read about events from this brilliant man’s perspective.

    I’m certain that George Orwell would have been a blogger extrordinaire.

  5. Maryrose says:

    I heard about this on NPR also. I think it is a great idea. I am looking forward to feeling the ramp up to WWII through his eyes. I am also interested to see how insightful he was and how it applies to our relationship with the media machine.

  6. em says:

    pregeveole iniziativa

  7. Robert Vanella USA says:

    I have been anticipating the first entry since the project was announced. My wife and I reread ‘Animal Farm’ aloud to each other over the past several evening to build the excitement. Many thanks to all involved for allowing us this intimate look and Mr. Orwell’s person writings.

  8. It’s a great idea, and I agree with you, Orwell would have been a great blogger!
    I really like Orwell and sometimes I wonder what he would say about our contemporary world, I think it would be really interesting to hear his voice now…

  9. Petrusdom says:

    Muchas gracias por esta iniciativa y así conocer de primera mano los apuntes del gran G. Orwell

  10. Richard says:

    What would he think of our contemporary world ?

    Read ‘the book within the book’ (1984) by Emmanuel Goldstein :

    http://gatwickcity.phpbb3now.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=631

  11. Kevin Marks says:

    Can you get the BBC to do the same for his broadcasts as a podcast? That would be excellent. His “As I Please” essays are very blog-like; they deserve a place here too.

  12. Maggy Frett says:

    Well, looking from the perspective of the future the diary was a success. I was almost fooled by the artificial postings in the name of a non-existing person.

    Very good job !

  13. George, do you listen to NPR as well?

  14. @Kevin Marks – unfortunately, none of Orwell’s broadcasts (indeed, no recordings of Orwell’s voice) are currently known to exist.

    Also, to the many of you who were hoping for translations into other languages… we’re signed up at Der Mundo, an online collaborative translation project, which you can find at http://orwelldiaries.dermundo.com/.

  15. Charles Curry says:

    I already got some benefit from this with the information about the snake-beliefs of Kent. Serendipity.

  16. chillsider says:

    Why nothing for today and yesterday, don’t tell me he took time out! gg

  17. judecowell says:

    Fantastic idea – thank you!

Leave a Reply

