28.11.38

Two eggs.

This entry was posted in Domestic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 28.11.38

  1. Eric says:

    I love eggs

  2. This diary was hyped quite a lot before they started putting it up. But all the time they must have been thinking, “But what will happen to our reader numbers when we get to that period of several years where he just counts eggs?”

  3. anilg says:

    It’s highly philosophical actually.. what came first? The egg.,. or the egg.

  4. hermese says:

    Should we be looking at this as a binary code system? I mean, he hasn’t gotten above “two eggs”, right? So if we figure “one egg”=0 and “two eggs”=1, we’ll have the hidden binary code meaning in only a few thousand more journal entries!

  5. Malcolm says:

    Two comments.

  6. Stephen says:

    Fried two eggs myself today. Thought of Orwell as I did so.

  7. Dan says:

    If you like eggs….

  8. Everyone likes an egg says:

    It would be more apt if the Jpeg banner at the top of the page had a shopping list or a picture of a hen in the laying act.

  9. Steve Lee says:

    I can’t stand the suspense….

  10. Nick Wagg says:

    I think I shall start visiting this site just weekly instead of daily. I might find it more eggciting. Looking forward to reading it after the Eggsmas break.

  11. Ed Webb says:

    Egg deprivation,
    Focuses the mind and soul:
    Two eggs? Celebrate!

  12. It’s all a ruse. Why have these so-called “eggs” become anthropomorphized? It’s all a trick, I tell ya!

  13. old.frt says:

    It would appear that Orwell is not allowing himself a day *without* a comment, even if the comment is merely a place-holder as it were.

    An egg, a goat, whatever, is at the bottom, minimally sufficient to keep the words flowing on to the paper.

    This diary was not written for us after all, he was honing his craft, which requires some productive effort everyday.

  14. Steve says:

    Fellow readers,

    We keep forgetting why he’s here. The man is very sick, for goodness’ sake! He’ll write more when he feels like it. Meanwhile, we have a chance to imagine being inside the skin of someone with potentially fatal tuberculosis.

  15. David says:

    Steve,

    If I get hit with a medical whammy I hope that I start reflecting on my life. Deciding what was good and bad. Maybe even go through the stages of grieving. I guess each person deals with death differently.

    But none the less I’m going to see where this little egg hunt leads.

  16. Natalia says:

    Do we think Orwell was an egg-o-maniac?

  17. Is there a tendency among le visiteurs fréquents à ce blog d’Orwell to project themselves into Blair’s persona—is it the other way around? The remarkably metaphysical solution is easily demonstrated with a Fibonacci Code-based line graph in OOo Calc utilizing the Seven Syllable Code Plug-in.

    “Political power grows out of the barrel of a gun,” says communist leader Mao Zedong (Mao Tse-tung) November 6, [1938] and Prince Konoye issues a proclamation in November declaring Japan’s aim for “a new order in East Asia.”

    I wonder how Blair might have reacted upon hearing news such as this, perhaps third- or fourth-hand. I’m fairly certain that my pulse rate would have increased.

  18. Jeff says:

    Maybe I should start writing my blog like the diary, except I don’t have a hen so it will be the number of emails that great me when I turn on my computer at the office.

    I think that someone should start thinking about scanning the pages into the post along with the text. Might make it a bit more interesting.

  19. People think that the lives of the famous must be every day filled with insight, adventure and wonder. Orwell’s diary, at least here, performs the useful service of showing us that they aren’t.

  20. Fatty Bowling of 191 Ellesmere Road, West Bletchley as he rides the train into London:

    Seems a pity somehow, I thought. I looked at the great sea of roofs stretching on and on. Miles and miles of streets, fried-fish shops, tin chapels, picture houses, little printing-shops up back alleys, factories, blocks of flats, whelk stalls, dairies, power stations—on and on and on. Enormous! And the peacefulness of it! Like a great wilderness with no wild beasts. No guns firing, nobody chucking pineapples, nobody beating anybody else up with a rubber truncheon. If you come to think of it, in the whole of England at this moment there probably isn’t a single bedroom window from which anyone’s firing a machine-gun.

    But how about five years from now? Or two years? Or one year?

  21. Steve says:

    What I meant was that it seems likely that Orwell is thinking — how can he not? It’s just that he feels too wretched to write about his thoughts or anything else, at least not here.

    Then again, the chickens are among the earliest victims of animal-on-animal violence in Animal Farm.

  22. devon says:

    I guess it could be like that Woody Allen joke in which his girlfriend believes she’s a chicken. Despite some angst, neither of them want to go to the shrink because they were grateful for the eggs. Woody even went on to overexplain: We go on having relationships however difficult, because we all need the eggs. Maybe all 8 hens died and E thinks she’s a chicken.

Leave a Reply

