September 2, 1938

Fine & fairly warm.

This entry was posted in Domestic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to September 2, 1938

  1. Slim Daniels says:

    I’m terrified that the FBI had the power to burn my journal and my portfolio for being terroristic. Speaking out about the patriot act and the failed drug war certainly allowed them to throw me in jail for 9 months.

    I’m ashamed of being an American and I’m ashamed of the Western District of Texas for providing the warrants needed to do nothing more then burn my daily thoughts, research, and artwork.

    … It’s fine & fairly warm here today as well, Mr. Orwell. I wish things had happened differently in the decades before I was born.

    Wes Southern – abstract / mixed media artist – Convicted Felon for texting with a cell phone and blogging ‘Terroristic’ thoughts and passions in 2007

  2. Some of these diary entries appear to be more equal than others.

  3. NIK says:

    All right, I’ll come back later then…

  4. Jan Mariën says:

    @ Slim Daniels

    Sorry you had to experience imprisonment, Slim. The dreadful spirit of Nineteen Eighty-Four is certainly alive in the US.
    I suppose you are not a McCain voter?
    Kind regards,
    Jan

  5. soushians says:

    I wish some body would write here what was realy happening to him in the same time.Why he just care about weather and nothing else to Write…

  6. art brennan says:

    Don’t you think it’s more than the weather? It’s that moment of discipline that requires a written word about something. We all know that something is coming to Orwell. It is just around the corner.

  7. Zamboge says:

    Read & pondered.

  8. Raketemensch says:

    You have to think about the man involved and read between the lines here. There are many layers involved in anything he had to say, no matter how simple it may appear on the surface.

    What he’s actually saying here is “partly cloudy with a chance of rain.”

  9. There is a vast wealth of data regarding the pseudonymous George Orwell readily available via the Internet. It is easy to find out, in detail, where he is on this particular day and why. This blog becomes much less mundane, I believe, once some context is established.

    I haven’t looked (because I want to preserve my “wormhole” perspective), but I believe the contents of this “diary” are available elsewhere if someone wanted to skip ahead five years to the last chapter, so-to-speak.

    Again, I think the context of this blog is where the real story lies for those of us here today; feel the ambiance. If you haven’t already, check out the Art, Architecture, Music, Literature, Politics, Films, Technology, Demographics, et cetera, of Planet Earth in that era, it’s a fun thing to do.

    Breathe. Breathe in the air…..

  10. Great – now I have PInk Floys in my head for the rest of the day :)

  11. Jason Anton says:

    Orwell speaks from the grave!!! Go to http://www.wunderground.com and put in your zip code to read Orwell’s thoughts!!!!

  12. Amelia E. says:

    @Daniel Earwicker — I’ve been enjoying your comments!

  13. Sir Alphonso says:

    I like how some people seem to be annoyed that this blog is boring.

    Would you like them to rewrite the history of Orwell’s blog, so that it’s more entertaining?

  14. sara r says:

    you know we started a war becuase of high tax prices and after that this country was about freedom freedom from persiction about what you say or write freedom from unjust taxiation freedom from not being able to write or text what you want to say so slim i have heard what you said and i agree

  15. Grammatical Anarchy, eh? Stream of Consciousness, too? Groovy, baby.

    C’mon, tell us how you really feel.

  16. FLJuice says:

    September 2, 2008. Boca Raton, FL.
    Very hot today, but blustery. Rip currents at the shore on account of the gathering storms and hurricanes. No afternoon showers yet, but they are to be expected.

  17. Fearless Frank says:

    Wet.

  18. Bonnie says:

    JamesonLewis3rd – I believe your “wormhole” effect would be even stronger if you read the letters that Orwell wrote on the same days. (1937-1939 is found in *Facing Unpleasant Facts*).

  19. Mark says:

    It’s very where I am. Just going outside makes me break a sweat.

  20. Bonnie~~
    Thank you!

  21. Matt says:

    you’re repeating yourself, george.

  22. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  23. Che Kerouac says:

    @Slim Daniels

    I love these guys who find FBI agents sleeping under their bed. They remind me of J. Edgar himself who always found Commies sleeping under his bed.

  24. Lange says:

    Slim
    Does the FBI really have a reason to be concerned about your journal? And just what is in your portfolio that makes you terroristic? The “Patriot Act” was put together to protect us from nut ball groups out there that want to harm us with their tiny little fists.
    You speak of the failed drug war. By your writings I see you’re paranoid. you’ve been getting your fair share of drugs.
    And if you’re ashamed of being an American, leave. There are millions of people out there that would trade citizenship with you in a heartbeat.

  25. So, now I think to myself, “I will keep a journal of the mundane to remind myself that it exists.”

    Of course. The Spanish Civil War. Now, there’s some context.

    Expressionism was mutating in parallel time.

    Béla Bartók wrote Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion in 1937–the premiere was in Basel, January 1938.

  26. Rolly says:

    Immediate thought: “Double post!”

  27. Raketemensch says:

    @Lange:

    The War and Terror and the War on Drugs are intrinsically the same — they are Wars on Personal Freedom.

    Being ashamed of your country is part of how Democracy works. If people weren’t able to express their belief that what their government is doing is wrong, well… You’ve read 1984, right?

  28. peteaberdeen says:

    it’s too obvious really – but we are all free to critiscise or feel ashamed of the way our government behaves -but that is no way a criticism of the people in our country. like any group of folk there are some good and some bad, most of us are muddling along doing our best somewhere in between. must admit though, i do find it hard to feel positive about people who voted for blair or bush -particularly after their war crimes in iraq and elsewhere. they have lied and killed to justify their war on ordinary people across the world. it’s not a war on terror -it’s a war on all our freedoms. if some innocent people get killed that’s a price worth paying for cheap oil and the continued U.S. military and economic dominance of the planet.

  29. @Lange: They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. Think on it.

  30. Lange says:

    @Raketemensch
    The War and Terror and the war on Drugs are intrinsically the same – they are Wars on Personal Freedom?
    Wow, you’re so open minded it looks like your brains have fallen out. It’s not the terrorist’s personal freedom to hijack a plane and fly it into a building. If you put it to a vote I doubt very seriously anyone that was riding on the hijacked planes would have gone along with your thinking, or the thousands of people in the buildings who were killed.
    But maybe there might have been one or two wild eyed limp wristed liberals that would have gone along with your train of thought, after all theirs you.
    And being a drug addict is not a personal freedom any sane person should be fighting for… but I see your, oh never mind.

  31. This is getting way off topic here, if you’d like I can start something up at my own blog because buddy, you’ve got it ALL wrong.

    And I’m no liberal nor am I politically correct. I just happen to believe in the ideals that our Founding Fathers cherished enough to die for.

    And as far as the Islamic terrorists, they’ve been fighting the world since time immemorial. They are the most emo of the emo kids and I don’t give a rats butt about them.

  32. peteaberdeen says:

    not saying the twin towers thing wasn’t a tragedy – but it was a long way from the ‘start of this thing’ europe and, more recently, america have been pursuing ruthless, often genocidal and brutal policies in the less developed parts of the world for many decades, without any sense of caring about the people in the lands they have exploited. the twin towers business was, in large part, a response to these atrocities. in strictly numerical terms (of casualties) the attack on the twin towers is a footnote in the history of war, terrorism and oppression. the war on terror is directed at the wrong target and is way out of proportion. look at the patient and measured british response to irish terrorism – no one suggested bombing dublin – we just kept talking and now, hopefully, the problem is sorted. (and for you christian yanks -forgive -and love your enemies.)

  33. Snidely Liplash says:

    Poor baby. America oppresses you. Wah.

  34. Slim Daniels says:

    @Lange (and others):

    Just because I’m ageist the war on drugs does not make me a drug user. Sorry to disappoint. It’s been years sense I even had a drink. My main addiction is coffee if you must know.

    As for seeing FBI agents – I never saw myself as a terrorist until the day real FBI agents served me an arrest and search warrant for all electronic devices and media. I thought they had the wrong address. I’ve never been arrested for anything in my life before.

    Nine months later I’m free but my art, writing, and online journal are still under lock and key. If I was really a terrorist I wouldn’t have been freed in under a year. As far as I can tell I was arrested as a warning to keep my opinions to myself. I was reprogrammed – threw fear – to be happy I own a Corvette and have my silly little freedom to walk around back.

    Someone said, “If you don’t like it then move” which I’d love to do but I can’t. I’m on probation – I can’t even travel more then 120 miles away from my house for years.

    What you are basically saying is I should move and not fight for what I believe in. All I want is the freedom to live my life the way I want to while not harming anyone else in the process. Move or face a ruined life for being different in the land of the “free” seems a bit off, doesn’t it?

    If you lived during WWII and I was Jewish would you have pointed me out to a Nazi after I didn’t move out of your country? See, all you have to do is fool yourself into thinking I’m some drug addicted artist who writes about FBI agents under his bed while spreading my unpatriotic poison to others … From there you can watch the witch burn without questioning what you witnessed.

  35. I think George Orwell and the USAs Founding Fathers would have gotten along rather well.

Leave a Reply

