14.11.38

Planted out nasturtiums.

This entry was posted in Domestic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 14.11.38

  1. Von Wereknel says:

    I’ll out plant your nasturtiums.

  2. Andrea Treadle says:

    What are nasturtiums? Someone failed this time to do the research and link it. I’m totally disoriented now.

  3. They’re pretty, brightly-colored flowers that–I think–resemble petunias in shape. They’re edible, too–I’m surprised George didn’t put them in an omelet with all those eggs.

  4. @Andrea~~
    Unless I really have gone mad, there are two links for nasturtiums in today’s post. I guess you are kidding, but I don’t get it.

  5. Ed Webb says:

    We are planted out,
    Staked out under the fierce sun:
    Wither or flourish?

  6. Wally says:

    Nasturtiums are delicious. They are spicy – a little like a radish or mild wasabi. I’ve never eaten the blooms, however, only the leaves.

  7. dave says:

    How very British….

    JL3; thats three times…

    Anyone read his essay on Kipling? Its GO 101

  8. itwasntme says:

    Nasturtiums are “volunteers” here in Los Angeles, and I’ve put the blossoms in salads for a nice look, but never tried eating the leaves. They should come up easily with very little tending, and very quickly too.

    I will look for the Nasturtiums coming soon to a blog near me!

  9. margot says:

    The blossoms are delicious. I’ve never eaten the leaves. He should have fed the dog. Perhaps an egg?

  10. Are the roots any good?

  11. George~~

    Thank you for this authentic example of the ultra-top secret Seven Syllable Code. I look forward to confounding my family, friends and cohorts with it—I’m sure to enjoy the startled look of incredulity this will certainly provoke.

  12. itwasntme says:

    JamesonLewis3rd, I’ve never heard that Nasturtium roots are any good. They seem to grow pretty much on the surface with shallow thin roots. Nothing carrot- or corm-like.

  13. itwasntme~~

    Thank you. I believe I’ve seen Nasturtiums blooming in this vicinity. I will, of course, be on the lookout for some seeds. I will, of course, promptly plant them under the tree in my front yard. Next to the chicken coop. In the billowing sea of leaping tortoises beneath a sky filled with darting silky, swooping sounds; as plough men dig the earth and George Raft lurks in the shadows, hoping to ambush a blase, nonchalant Rick–yes, that Rick.
    ~~~~~
    About 5 decades previous to my arrival via wormhole in this idyllic fantasyland destination, Vincent Van Gogh did a couple of paintings called The Sower. I recently glommed them at the MoMA and they seemed apropos.

  14. Pingback: 3rdBlog

Leave a comment